Connect with us

Dallas Stars

Stars End 2017 with 6-0 Rout of Sharks

Stars End 2017 with 6-0 Rout of Sharks

While a less than stellar year is closer to becoming a thing of the past, the Dallas Stars ring in the new year with a 6-0 win over the San Jose Sharks at the American Airlines Center.

Dallas entered the New Year’s Eve matchup sporting a 13-4-1 record while on home ice and fresh off a win vs division foe St. Louis on Friday.

The Stars scored two goals in each period and tabbed six scores by five different players with Tyler Pitlick (6)(7) as the only repeat scorer.

John Klingberg started the scoring with a slap shot for his fifth goal of the year just over six minutes into the 1st period. Pitlick followed with one in the 1st, then was followed by a Stephen Johns (4) and Tyler Seguin (19) in the second period.

Devin Shore found the back of the net to make it 5-0 10 minutes into the final period before Pitlick added his second. Ben Bishop saved all 26 shots and made some highlight-reel including one with the left pad in the second period to keep the Sharks off the board.

The 6-0 win was the most lopsided win of the season and the fourth shutout, the third of which that was on home ice.

It also helps the Stars keep pace only three points behind the St. Louis Blues who sit in third place in the Central Division.

Dallas outshot San Jose 32 to 26 and held the Sharks to an 0 for 3 mark on the power-play. Opponents are a combined 1 for 11 when the Stars are in the box over the past three games.

14-4-1 is the fifth best home record in the NHL and the third best mark in the Western Conference. The Stars start the new year with three home games before the All-Star break and one more on home ice afterwards before hitting the road again.

Dallas takes the ice again against Columbus at 7:30pm CT in search for their third-straight win.

For more Stars coverage follow the Dallas Sports Fanatic on Twitter at @Dallas_Fanatic and my personal Twitter at @Kyle_Youmans.

Born and raised in Waco, Texas. Future graduate of the University of North Texas in 2018. Avid Dallas sports fanatic and multimedia journalist.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Recent Posts