Connect with us

FC Dallas

Toyota Stadium selected as host venue for 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup

Photo courtesy of FC Dallas PR

Toyota Stadium selected as host venue for 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) today announced that Toyota Stadium is one of 15 venues across 13 U.S. metropolitan cities that will welcome the 2019 edition of the Concacaf Gold Cup next summer.

The Concacaf Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the region which crowns the best national team in North America, Central America and the Caribbean. The competition takes place every two years.

In 2017, Toyota Stadium hosted a Group A double-header featuring Costa Rica vs. French Guyana and Canada vs. Honduras. The 2015 edition of the tournament saw the U.S. defeat Honduras, 2-1, in front of a sell-out crowd of 22,357 fans at Toyota Stadium.

The U.S. won the latest edition of the Concacaf Gold Cup, defeating Jamaica, 2-1, in the final on July 25, 2017 at Levi’s Stadium. FC Dallas Homegrown player Kellyn Acosta featured in a 2-0 victory against Costa Rica in the tournament semifinals in front of 45,516 fans at AT&T Stadium.

Looking to build on the excitement of previous editions of the Gold Cup in DFW, the 2019 bid to host was a collaborative effort between FC Dallas, Toyota Stadium and the Dallas Sports Commission.

The 2019 edition of the Concacaf Gold Cup is the first edition that will be played in an expanded format, and will include 16 nations in the biannual championship. The tournament will be taking the event to a record 15 venues in the U.S. as well as venues in countries outside of North America, which will be announced at a later date. Groups and schedule, including dates and match schedule, will be announced at a future date.

Concacaf is announcing each host venue and city with a week-long series of local events across the U.S. The 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup venues and host cities are listed here:

To date, the six national teams that participated in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Hexagonal qualifier round — Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, and the United States – have automatically qualified for the Gold Cup.


The 10 additional participating nations in the 2019 Gold Cup will qualify through Concacaf Nations League Qualifier competition, to be played in September, October and November of 2018, and March of 2019.

Drawing large crowds and millions of television viewers across the region, the Gold Cup is a celebration of soccer, sportsmanship and culture.

The 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup is sponsored by Allstate Insurance Company, Cerveza Modelo, Nike, Scotiabank, and Toyota. The tournament will be broadcast across the U.S. on the Univision and FOX family of networks and transmitted on radio in Spanish by Fútbol de Primera Radio Network, and broadcast by television partners in countries around the world.

Exclusive Presale Offering
Fans can now visit to sign up for an exclusive pre-sale offering for any Gold Cup gameday in 2019, before seats go on sale to the general public. Tickets for the 2019 Gold Cup will go on sale at a later date. The local host committees encourage fans to purchase their tickets early in order to secure the best seats for a great fan experience.

Dallas Sports Fanatic owner, credentialed media writer, and photographer covering the Dallas Mavericks, Dallas Stars, Dallas Wings, FC Dallas and college football

Click to comment


2020 NFL Draft Recap

Recent Posts